Why Vanasse Law?

See the many reasons Vanasse Law’s dedication, expertise and personal attention makes us THE best choice for injured workers in central Pennsylvania.

Learn More >

Testimonials

“I am so thankful that I was referred to Vanasse Law for my workmans comp claim. Mike & Loraine put me at ease and the outcome was better than I expected…”

More Testimonials >

Get a Free Case Evaluation

*Required

I have read the disclaimer.
Privacy Policy

Reporting Accidents in the Workplace

reporting accidents in the workplace

You’ve been hurt at work. Maybe you were involved in a serious and obvious accident. Maybe what happened to you wasn’t as obvious and you have been identified with a repetitive stress injury as a result of your job, or a cumulative occupational disease that was caused by exposure to a toxin in your workplace environment. Whether illness or injury, if it happened at work you may be entitled to workers’ compensation benefits such as compensation for your medical expenses and any wages you lose as a result. Though workers’ compensation is extended to almost all Pennsylvania workers, as the injured party you have certain requirements that you must meet in order to get the benefits you seek. The experienced workers’ compensation lawyers at Vanasse Law have a long and successful record of assisting injured workers, and we can help you too.

If you have been in an accident and are suffering from symptoms, the most important thing for you to do is seek medical attention. If your physician identifies an illness that arose from your workplace, or you’ve been treated for an injury you suffered at work, then you need to report it to your employer immediately and in writing. Doing so sets into motion a series of events that lead to you getting the reimbursement you will need for the medical expenses you incur. Your employer may have a specific form that you need to fill out, or may have a requirement for who is to receive notice of your situation.

Pennsylvania law makes you responsible for giving your employer notification within 21 days of either your injury taking place or of you learning of your illness or injury. In some situations, they will allow up to 120 days for this notice. Your report may be submitted to the human resources department or your manager or supervisor. Once you submit a claim your employer has to send a notification to the Bureau of Workers’ Compensation. The employer may ask that you see one of the several physicians that they have specifically identified for treatment of employees seeking workers’ compensation, and you may need to see those physicians for a minimum period of time. Though it may feel as if there are a lot of rules and regulations, it is important to adhere to the guidelines established by Pennsylvania law. Failure to follow these protocols can result in your forfeiting your ability to get the reimbursement to which you are entitled.

Workers’ compensation can provide a wide range of benefits, including reimbursement for medical expenses, lost wages, and short or long-term disability payments. Though an injured worker is not able to file a personal injury lawsuit against their employer, they still maintain the right to hold others responsible if there has been negligence involved in their injury. This can include other contractors in the worksite, as well as other third parties.

If you have questions about your rights or have been turned down for compensation that you believe you deserve, the experienced Lancaster attorneys at Vanasse Law can help. Call us today to set up a convenient appointment.