Why Vanasse Law?

See the many reasons Vanasse Law’s dedication, expertise and personal attention makes us THE best choice for injured workers in central Pennsylvania.

Learn More >

Testimonials

“I am so thankful that I was referred to Vanasse Law for my workmans comp claim. Mike & Loraine put me at ease and the outcome was better than I expected…”

More Testimonials >

Get a Free Case Evaluation

*Required

I have read the disclaimer.
Privacy Policy

PA Workers Compensation 101 – Understanding Your Rights in Pennsylvania

No matter what industry you work in or what type of work you do, when you’ve been hurt on the job you have a lot of challenges in store. We know that your primary goal is to get better, but that’s going to take medical attention and time. Getting the compensation that you need to cover your injuries and your time away from work shouldn’t be a chore, but it often is. In the state of Pennsylvania, the process can be extremely complex and time consuming, especially if you attempt to go it alone. Having an experienced Pennsylvania Workers’ Compensation law firm by your side to represent you can greatly increase your chances of having your claim approved. At Vanasse Law we have extensive knowledge of the Pennsylvania’s Workers’ Compensation process. We know what needs to be done and will help you at every step along the way.

It can be hard to know what to do after you’ve been hurt at work. The Pennsylvania Workers’ Compensation system can be overwhelming and it’s easy to miss an important step or deadline. That’s why it’s so important to have an experienced attorney to guide you through the process.  The first thing that you need to do is to report your accident and any resulting injury to your employer. You must do this within 120 days of knowing that your condition is work related – if you miss this deadline, your employer is not required to provide you with these essential benefits. After this you are required to see one of your employer’s approved workers’ compensation doctors for the first 90 days of your injury. If your employer has a list of these physicians posted and you fail to use one of them, your employer is able to deny paying medical bills incurred during those first ninety days.

Once you have reported your injury, your employer needs to file a “First Report of Occupational Injury” with their insurance company as well as the Bureau of Workers’ Compensation. Upon receipt of this form, the insurance company has 21 days in which to review the claim and accept it or deny it. Your employer also needs to accept or deny responsibility for your injury. Denial will result in you receiving a Notice of Compensation Denial, while acceptance results in a Notice of Compensation Payable. If you are denied you will need to file a claim petition within three years of the day of your injury. This will lead to hearing in front of a judge to determine whether you are entitled to benefits or not.

As you can see, the Pennsylvania Workers’ Compensation process is highly specific and complicated, but the experienced workers’ compensation attorneys at Vanasse Law have been working with the system for many years and can anticipate and address all of the potential outcomes. Call us today to set up an appointment to discuss your situation and see how we can help.

Learn more about PA Workers Compensation HERE.