Why Vanasse Law?

See the many reasons Vanasse Law’s dedication, expertise and personal attention makes us THE best choice for injured workers in central Pennsylvania.

Learn More >

Testimonials

“I am so thankful that I was referred to Vanasse Law for my workmans comp claim. Mike & Loraine put me at ease and the outcome was better than I expected…”

More Testimonials >

Get a Free Case Evaluation

*Required

I have read the disclaimer.
Privacy Policy

Farm Injuries and Workers’ Compensation

farm injuriesWhen people suffer an injury on the job, they are generally entitled to file a workers’ compensation claim to get reimbursed for their medical expenses and a portion of the wages that they lose if they need to miss work for treatment, recovery, or rehabilitation. Injuries can occur in nearly any kind of work environment, whether an office, a construction site, a retail setting, or elsewhere, but one of the job settings that puts workers most at risk is the farm. No matter what the job title or responsibilities, the potential for injury exists. Farm workers often work with animals or crops, and that can expose them to chemicals or disease. They also work with heavy machinery and tools. Despite the hazards they face, farm workers in some states do not have the same rights as other workers to file a worker’s compensation claim, and in the state of Pennsylvania only some workers have those rights. If you are injured on a farm in Pennsylvania, you need to know whether you are eligible to file for workers’ compensation. The Lancaster law firm of Vanasse Law can advise you on how the law applies to you, and can represent you when you file a claim.

What determines whether a farm worker in Pennsylvania can file a workers’ compensation claim when they are injured is the number of employees that the farmer employs and how much those workers are paid. The rule specifically states that a farmer has to have at least one agricultural worker to whom they pay at least $1,200, or else employ at least one worker for a minimum of 30 days or more per calendar year. If you are a farm worker whose owner is large enough to meet this threshold, then you can proceed with a workers’ compensation claim.

In some cases, a farm owner may tell you that they are not required to carry workers’ compensation because of these rules, but hey may be incorrect, even if they believe that they are. A farmer who brings in day workers as independent consultants who has not checked to see whether their employer has provided appropriate insurance may end up responsible for the workers’ injuries.  Even if not, there are still options available to you. A farm owner who does not provide workers’ compensation to a worker can be held liable in a personal injury lawsuit, and so can any third party whose negligence contributed to your injury.

An experienced workers’ compensation attorney from Vanasse Law will be able to help you answer these questions, and to determine what your options are. We will help you get compensation the compensation that you deserve for the damage that you’ve suffered. Contact us for a no obligation appointment to discuss your situation.