Why Vanasse Law?

See the many reasons Vanasse Law’s dedication, expertise and personal attention makes us THE best choice for injured workers in central Pennsylvania.

Learn More >

Testimonials

“I am so thankful that I was referred to Vanasse Law for my workmans comp claim. Mike & Loraine put me at ease and the outcome was better than I expected…”

More Testimonials >

Get a Free Case Evaluation

*Required

I have read the disclaimer.
Privacy Policy

Can I Treat My Workers’ Compensation Injuries Using My Own Doctor?

work place injuriesWhen you suffer any kind of injury, your natural response is to seek attention from your physician. After all, that is the professional who knows your health history, and with whom you have established a relationship over the years. But if the injury that you have suffered is a workplace injury and you plan on filing a workers’ compensation claim, then there are certain rules that you need to be aware of and to follow. Having an experienced workers’ compensation attorney acting as your advocate can help you avoid making mistakes that could keep you from getting the compensation that you need. The workers’ compensation attorneys from the Lancaster law firm of Vanasse Law are here to keep you on the right track so you can get the reimbursement that you deserve.

Pennsylvania’s workers’ compensation laws define a work injury as an injury, disease or condition caused by a person’s job, and in order to get compensation for that injury, a worker needs to inform their employer about the condition within 21 days of it having occurred, or within 120 days at the absolute latest. The sooner you report an injury the better, even if you don’t think that you’ll need medical treatment. If you do need treatment, your company is allowed to insist that you are treated by a doctor from their company approved list for the first visit and for 90 days thereafter: once those 90 days are up, you can see whatever physician you choose. It is also important to note that not every company has this requirement in place. You only need to go to a company doctor if your company has provided you with a written list that consists of at least six designated health care providers and you have signed a document indicating that you have received the list and are aware of those requirements. If the company hasn’t provided this type of list, then you are free to select whatever physician you would like.

Workers’ compensation offers a number of benefits, including compensation for medical expenses and for wages lost as a result of the injury. The amount that you can receive in lost wages is based on the amount of money that you were making before the injury, and there are maximum amounts that can be paid, but most workers receive about 2/3s of their wage. Bills from doctors and medical facilities are paid based on a fee schedule, and bill the employer’s workers’ compensation insurance company directly. The employee should not have to pay any fees.

Workers’ compensation is a valuable benefit for employees, but getting the benefits that you deserve can, unfortunately, be a difficult process. The attorneys at Vanasse Law will fight for your rights and make sure that everything is being done the right way. Call us today to set up an appointment to discuss your case.